[WAR] Goodnew and Badnews

Posted: December 27, 2010 in WAR, WARdrobe

Well, which do you want first.  Oh you can’t answer.

How about the bad news:  I’ve unsubbed from WAR.  This really isn’t as big a deal as you might think it is.  Truth be told, I’ve not played much at all since I started working on the WARdrobe.  It is a pretty intense project.  I’ll have my free trial account, but I’ll no longer be a part of Core.  That’s not a big deal though, really.  Anything I knew about in there, I couldn’t share, nor would it influence the WARdrobe.  Besides, being part of Core really didn’t elevate the status of WARdrobe and get me any sorts of insider information to help me develop for it.  That was good ol’ digging on my part to pull in all the pieces of their API.

The good news is that fortunately for me, I don’t need to be subbed to WAR to work on it.  With the endless free-trial, I have access to everything I need to continue to maintain the addon and the site alike.  I remain committed to developing for this game, even if I don’t play it. I like the community (even Testpig), and feel an obligation to help them out wherever I can.  I hope to have the uploading issues worked out over the next week or two.  Things have been…arduous.  (First time development is easy, as you can start over if you want.  I need to triple-check things to ensure I don’t fubar existing data now).

So there you go.  That’s the big news.  Hope everyone had a good holiday, and I hope you don’t hate me for jumping off the WAR wagon.  I was pretty burned out on the existing experience, and tacking 20 more levels to the end and a randomly playable Skaven wasn’t enough to entice me to keep on truckin’ to 100.  Sorry Mythic.  I kept on keepin’ on longer than I should have.  Maybe that was wishful thinking.  Maybe it was a feeling of dedication from all the fun I had in DAoC.  Who knows.  Anyway, I’ll raise a glass to hoping you pull the nose up before you hit the water.

See everyone after the new year. 🙂

Comments
  1. Wasdstomp says:

    Yup sometimes there just isn’t enough time for gaming if you are trying to work on projects. Luckily the rift beta breaks up the monotony a little bit for me right now.

  2. Syrioq says:

    Sorry to hear that, but that’s the way things go sometimes. It’s called a game for a reason, and if it’s not fun anymore then it’s time to go (or break).

    Glad to hear you’ll still be developing, you put up some great tools. Thanks again for all your work!

  3. Shadow says:

    What are you playing now instead? Gone back to WoW?

    • Rancid says:

      “Gone back” isn’t really the right word. I played WoW back prior to Burning Crusade for 4-5 months. I decided to hop back on and see what the 12 million subs were on about. It’s been…delightful. They’ve truly incorporated some of the best things from other games out there, taken the grind down a bit and put in some really innovative features.

      They took Achievements from XBox 360.
      They took the Quest Helper (red blob of doom) from WAR.
      They do SC queueing (BGs) just like WAR does.

      They added some other neat things such as Cross Server instance building, flying mounts, a fully-functional armory (like WARdrobe) and everything about your toon is online to see.

      Don’t let that come off as “fanboiism”. Blizzard does stuff with the nine-figure income each month.

  4. testpig says:

    i’m not part of the war community =). Mythic has banned me from the OF yet again. And honestly there wasn’t much going on there anyway so it’s no lost.

    oh and i quit war, once they showed the 1.4 patch notes. The game has managed to completely turn into a game i never want to play ever again.

Leave a Reply

