[WARdrobe] The Future (hint: you)

Posted: March 7, 2011 in WARdrobe

“Remember, people will judge you by your actions, not your intentions. You may have a heart of gold — but so does a hard-boiled egg.” – Anonymous

So, I guess I get an E for Effort, but an F for Execution.  When I quit playing WAR back in December (likely long before that), I had every thought and intention of keeping the WARdrobe up to date, getting those last few changes put into place to make the thing sing…

Unfortunately, the reality didn’t match the intention.  I didn’t get much else done other than what you see.  The project has atrophied a bit since I last picked up the code, but it still runs.

Now, what sets me apart from Curse (as I see it anyway) is that I’m not going to let this thing die.  Coupled with a new fiscal responsibility, I unfortunately can’t provide the hosting for the WARdrobe anymore.  That’s the bad news.

The good news is that I’ll be making the WARdrobe 100% open source.  Yeah, that’s scary.  The alternative is allowing it to fall off the radar like WARdb did.  Yeah, not gonna happen.

I had to get this out there now, since it’ll hold my foot to the flame to ensure it gets done.  I’ve been meaning to get this announcement out for about three weeks now, but I’ve just not gotten around to it.

At any rate, keep your eyes here for info.  Especially if you like C#, Javascript, MSSQL 2005 and AJAX (hardcore).

Comments
  1. Syrioq says:

    Sweet! Haven’t done much AJAX, but I might give it a go.

  2. […] talking in the past tense because one month ago Rancid announced that he can’t afford (or isn’t willing) to continue the development and the hosting of […]

Leave a Reply

