[Xbox] I’m a Dragonslayer. Yay.

Posted: November 29, 2011 in Misc

I’m not usually one for console gaming. I mean, not these days. Sure, when I was younger I had a NES, SNES, N64, PS2, and even a Gameboy (don’t hate). I snagged an XBox 360 when my first kiddo was born. It was mainly to help pass the nights while the wifey took her rests.

Don’t get me wrong, I like my 360. I’m jaded though. I’m used to the expansive worlds of the MMORPG. Or playing an FPS on a keyboard and mouse. I just don’t think you can top those. The 360 comes close. Pretty damn close. And at the peak of that mountain reaching for the PC heavens is Skyrim.

I’d never heard of Skyrim until it came out. The world was aflutter with this new game. I caught a bit of the excitement until I read “Elder Scrolls” which immediately threw me back to “Oblivion”. To put Oblivion in perspective, I have 60 achievement points in Oblivion. I also have 60 points in “Fable Coin Golf” for the Windows Phone 7. Yeah, I hated Oblivion. I’ve blocked out so much of it, that I don’t even know why I hated it. All I remember going was “really? Seriously? Fuck this, I’m out.”

So, when I heard Skyrim was the next in line, I said “fuck this, I’m out and I’m saving $60 this time.” That wasn’t meant to be, though. A friend managed to talk me into getting it. How he did that, I don’t know. He’s not even in the same Time Zone as me, but he managed to get me to spend $60 on a game I was dead set against buying.

I’m glad he did. Skyrim was a good game. Was it flawless? Hell no. The game managed to lock up my system five times over the past two and a half weeks. Typing that out, I realize that I’ve put 47 hours into a game in two and a half weeks. That certainly means they did something right.  I think the entire internet has lauded everything that Skyrim did right.  It was a gorgeous, deep game that kept you on the edge of your seats as the plot evolved.  I don’t need to waste your time reading that stuff again.

SPOILERS

I’m a little bit disheartened though.  The main quest line was fun, but entirely too short.  I felt that I did more work in Riften trying to kill Mercer than I did in trying to kill Alduin.  It was engaging, sure.  I think they just flat out ran out of story.  For that, I’m cranky.  While I realize that the story has to end sometime, I didn’t expect it to end so abruptly.  I went into the end-fight in Sovngarde wholly expecting a “Whoa shit!” moment and for the plot to take a drastic turn.  When Alduin died, I was pretty irked.  “That’s it?” was my first though.  There was more “Oh snap!” when the Circle ended up being werewolves.

END SPOILERS

I think that had I known the entire main story-arc could be completed so easily, I wouldn’t have worked on it nearly as much as I did.  I completed Whiterun, Riften and a good chunk of Markarth, bought two houses, fully furnished one of them and have a pretty good chunk of cash to go play around with.

That said, I can’t help but feel a bit jaded.  Now that I know the game has been completed, why am I going to run around Skyrim and help other people?  I wish I had the perseverance to get all the achievements in the game, as none sound completely ridiculous.  I just don’t see that happening.

 

 

Comments
  1. Shadow says:

    I haven’t read your spoilers, but the bit after makes me happy about my gameplay. I’m level 25 now, and just talked to the greybeards, then went and did my own thing.again. I’m way in the Northwest in Solitude, joining the empire and helping with that. The game has really brought out my ADHD, I see on icon on my compass, and next thing you know I’ve cleared out some druidic preserves of angry spriggans, found some more dragon words, and cleared a couple abandonded forts on the opposite side of the map from where I was first going.

  2. Scarybooster says:

    I like Skyrim but I never can seem to find the time to play it. I’m only level 10 and I got the game on release. It’s a good game but I feel like I need 5-10 hours to really do anything. I’m just a slow gamer

Leave a Reply

